Another Stepping Stone

This weekend I am participating in an Educator/Colleague Treaty Walk. It is taking place in Fort Qu’Appelle Saskatchewan. I am going on this trip with little expectation and no itinerary. My only prediction is that it is going to be more impactful than I can even imagine.

I am so excited to share this experience with other future educators who are just as passionate about Indigenizing Education as I am. There is nothing stronger than a shared mission and passion. My passion, along with many other future educators from the University of Regina, is to fight the constant injustices that minorities face, specifically Indigenous peoples.

In my journey thus far, the biggest revelations are listed below:

  • Seeing and accepting that I was privileged based on my settler status
  • Acknowledging the systematic racism that exists
  • Recognizing the importance of the Numbered Treaties
  • Seeing the complete disregard that Canadians have for the treaties and Indigenous peoples’ treaty rights

These revelations have come in both tiny steps as well as leaps and bounds. It has been a journey that began four years ago. The journey began like a semi-truck running me over and disrupting every single thing that I believed up until that point. It has not been easy and my denial still kicks in sometimes. But, the difference now is that I have a passion to help, to fight, and to understand.

This treaty walk will be another stepping stone in my journey. I am unsure of the effects yet but I know it will only push my passion and drive me forward as an educator.

download

Leave a comment